Britney Spears shakes up the music industry again with legendary album ‘Blackout’ – Designer Women

The entertainment industry is not as magical a place as people think: in an instant you can be at the top of the charts, gain millions of fans and ride a roller coaster to success; on the other hand, the structures in your life can be dismantled with a simple comment or a day not as good as you would like. This changing scope of reconciliation between personal and professional was one of the main reasons that sparked the famous and yet memorable collapse of Pop Princess Britney Spears between 2006 and 2007, whose figure experienced many problems in her life. . at home and abroad and ended up exploding. in the most humiliating way possible for the singer.

Spears has always been completely steeped in fame, ever since her stint on the now defunct “The House of Mickey Mouse” show. At sixteen, she embarked on a solo career and was marked by her baby voice and baby face – the stereotypical high school rebel makeup that then opened her doors to transform her into a sex symbol. Of course, amid the stakes of hypersexualization, the artist has also become a form of expression that goes against a male-dominated bubble – and alongside Madonna, Christina Aguilera and others. singers of the last decades of a troubled century, he reached a plateau which brought him immeasurable pressure and brought about the virtual annihilation of his career. No wonder there was a four-year hiatus between ‘In the Zone’ and her next album.

Bitter between frightened fans and a visceral, convincing press that didn’t want to leave her alone, Spears took over the reins of her life and gave an air of renewal with the arrival of ‘Blackout’. Of course, after the controversy surrounding her marriage and children, no one took her seriously – but the release of her debut single, “Gimme More” proved everyone wrong and Britney did well anyway. things. an impact. Without a shadow of a doubt, the song’s composition already shows a totally different tune from his previous works, plunging into a contemporary mix that abandons the ’90s tune and addresses an audience moved by dynamism. The opening track is sexy, almost exhilarating, with more greedy lyrics – whatever that means.

The whole structure of the album, as already said, deviates from previous conventionalisms – not entirely, maintaining approximations with “Toxic” and “Overprotected”, for example. However, the arrangements extend their leanings to something much more indie, perhaps even daring to pursue more marginalized musical styles. “Heaven on Earth” and “Freakshow”, part of the core, are clear references to Europop and to a synthetic construction that touches electronics, but remains true to the roots of electro-pop. The use of distorted musical tones helps to create a dreamlike and intentionally uncomfortable atmosphere, reflecting the singer’s own emotions.

Enjoy watching:

Meanwhile, “Get Naked (I Got a Plan)” and “Toy Soldier” seek a more brutal approach, with funk as the main backdrop. The tracks on the record are much closer to each other in terms of structure than content, although appearing in continuity with themes already addressed by the lead singer. After all, we know very well that Spears never had a problem talking openly about sex, beauty, sensuality and other taboos somewhat rejected by the most conservative; here however, while some leads bring expected narratives, others seek to explore other avenues, subtly criticizing the manipulation of some people and how she’s fed up with dealing with ‘tin soldiers’.

The album works in its entirety in several ways: the marketing and sales vision is there, dialoguing with its modernized and refreshing recreation of pop ready to dive into the digital age. At the same time, there is also an experimental clear, from the hybridization of countless styles that blend together and create an almost perfect harmony. Of course, lows do exist, including Pharrell Williams’ appearance in “Why Should I Be Sad,” creating a broken parenthesis against the rest of the solid base. But the spikes are more common, if not for Britney’s autotune voice, for whatever her forays represent – after all, this is her first appearance as an executive producer, which gives her more autonomy to do what she wants.

“Piece of Me”, the second most acclaimed single, is the perfect definition of what the title of the work means: Seeking to get her life back on track, Britney realizes that one of the main reasons why it gave way to a madness was the pressure exerted by a manipulative and sensationalist press. And what better way to respond to these attacks with a clear affront? The track, a not at all subtle irony that serves as a response to those who have tried to diminish it, and not only has deliciously perverse lyrics, but also brings elements of dubstep and acoustic distortions that make it a masterpiece. artwork. masterpieces. The maturity of this song is found even in “Break the Ice”, whose more delicate approach creates counterpoints between a powerful chorus and very fluid bridges.

“Blackout” is forward thinking by nature and could not have had a better representative than Britney Spears. The idea of ​​leaving to get back to work is one of the mottos that drives the album’s idealization and shows how it is always possible to come back to the top, even if everyone is against you and no one else is. other does not believe it. in your potential.

Rating per track:

1. Give me more – 5/5
2. A piece of me – 5/5
3. Radar – 4.5 / 5
4. Break the ice – 4.5 / 5
5. Heaven on Earth – 4.5 / 5
6. Undressing (I have a plan) – 3.5 / 5
7. Freakshow – 4.5 / 5
8. Miniature Soldier – 4.5 / 5
9. Hot as Ice – 3.5 / 5
10. Ooh Ooh baby – 4/5
11. Perfect lover – 4.5 / 5
12. Why should I be sad – 3/5

Make sure to watch:

Source link

Comments are closed.