2022 ACM Studio Recording, Industry Award Winners – Billboard

The Academy of Country Music announced the winners of the Industry Award and Studio Recording Award for the 57th Academy of Country Music Awards during an event at the Grand Ole Opry House in Nashville on Friday, May 13.

Charlie Worsham was surprised with his first ACM Award, for ACM Acoustic Guitarist of the Year. Dierks Bentley sent a video message honoring Worsham, who then offered a sweet acceptance speech to those at the Opry House. Worsham has contributed to albums by Bentley, Eric Church, Kip Moore, Carrie Underwood and many others.

To explore

To explore

See the latest videos, graphics and news

See the latest videos, graphics and news

“It couldn’t go to a better guitarist or a better guy,” Bentley said. “Everyone in this town knows what a great musician you are.”

“It means the world to me and it started with my parents,” Worsham told the Opry crowd. “My mom used to drive me to banjo lessons an hour each way…and my dad made sure I grew up on the best music and took me to the best gigs. He gave me the virus – I saw him playing drums in a local band. He also thanked his wife Kristen, as well as the artists, musicians and engineers he worked with. “It’s an honor and I’m so grateful.”

The Ryman Auditorium, which celebrated its 130th anniversary this year, won its seventh ACM Lifetime Award. Pedal Steel guitarist Paul Franklin won his 17th career ACM award and his first win as Specialty Instrument Player of the Year. Meanwhile, promoter Brian O’Connell and producer Dann Huff each won their 10th career ACM Awards. In March 2020, the Basement East Concert Hall was damaged when tornadoes ripped through Nashville. The venue has since been rebuilt and it has now been honored with its first ACM award, as ACM Club of the Year.

Several others also won their first ACM Awards, including Chicago’s Windy City Smokeout Festival (festival of the year), San Antonio Rodeo (fairground/rodeo of the year), sound engineer Jim Cooley, drummer Evan Hutchings and pianist/keyboardist David Dorn.

Industry awards, studio recording awards and special award winners yet to be announced will be celebrated at the 15th Annual Academy of Country Music Honors on August 24 at the Ryman Auditorium.

Below is the full list of winners of this year’s Industry Awards and Studio Recording Awards:

Industry Award Winners:

  • Casino of the Year-Theatre: Choctaw Casino & Resort – Durant, Oklahoma
  • Casino of the Year-Arena: Mohegan Sun Arena – Uncasville, Connecticut
  • Party of the year: Windy City Smokeout Festival – Chicago, IL
  • Fair/Rodeo of the Year: San Antonio Rodeo – San Antonio, Texas
  • Club of the year: East Basement – Nashville, TN
  • Theater of the year: Ryman Auditorium – Nashville, TN
  • Outdoor site of the year: Red Rocks Amphitheater – Morrison, CO
  • Arena of the Year: Bridgestone Arena – Nashville, Tennessee
  • Don Romeo Talent Buyer of the Year: Todd Boltin – Various Attractions
  • Promoter of the Year: Brian O’Connell – Live Nation

Studio Recording Award Winners:

  • Bassist of the Year: Jimmie Lee Sloas
  • Drummer of the Year: Evan Hutchins
  • Acoustic Guitarist of the Year: Charlie Worham
  • Electric Guitarist of the Year: Tom Bukovac
  • Pianist/Keyboardist of the Year: David Dorn
  • Specialist Instrument(s) Player of the Year: Paul Franklin
  • Sound Engineer of the Year: Jim Cooley
  • Producer of the Year: Dann Huff

Comments are closed.